The star-studded cast for the upcoming London run of The Spongebob Musical has been announced.

Taking on the lead roles will be the talented Divina de Campo as Plankton, with Gareth Gates and Tom Read Wilson alternating in the role of Squidward.

Completing the ensemble cast of The Spongebob Musical are Lewis Cornay as SpongeBob, Irfan Damani as Patrick, Chrissie Bhima as Sandy, Richard J Hunt as Mr. Krabs, Sarah Freer as Pearl, Eloise Davies as Mrs. Puff, Hannah Lowther as Karen, and Rebecca Lisewski as Mayor. The production also includes the musical talents of Sam Beveridge, Farirayi Garaba, Jeremiah Olaleye, Eleanor Turiansky, Rhys Batten, Reece Kerridge, and Theo Reece. The band comprises Sam Beveridge, Jeremiah Olaleye, and Eleanor Turiansky.

The show will be at the Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall from Wednesday 26th July to Saturday 26th August.

Tickets are on sale now from here.

Divina De Campo, known for her exceptional vocals and notable appearances on shows like RuPaul’s Drag Race UK, will bring her seasoned expertise to the role of Sheldon J. Plankton.

Tom Read Wilson, recognized as the receptionist on Channel 4’s Celebs Go Dating, studied at Rose Bruford College and the Royal Academy of Music, showcasing his talent in various productions. Gareth Gates, who gained fame as the runner-up on the UK’s first Pop Idol, has sold millions of records worldwide and boasts an impressive theater portfolio, including notable roles in Les Misérables, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Legally Blonde, and Footloose.

Lewis Cornay, who recently portrayed Amos in Whistle Down The Wind at The Watermill, has a wealth of experience on the West End stage, including performances in The Book of Mormon, The King and I, The Sound of Music, and Mary Poppins. Irfan Damani has made appearances in The New Musketeers, The Aliens Who Saved Christmas, Billionaire Boy, and Ishq the Musical, showcasing his versatility on both stage and screen.

The Spongebob Musical is based on the series by Stephen Hillenburg, with book by Kyle Jarrow and featuring original songs by Yolanda Adams, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, Jonathan Coulton, Alex Ebert of Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, The Flaming Lips, Lady A, Cyndi Lauper, John Legend, Panic! At the Disco, Plain White T’s, They Might Be Giants and T.I. and songs by David Bowie, Tom Kenny and Andy Paley. Additional lyrics by Jonathan Coulton. Additional music by Tom Kitt. Musical production conceived by Tina Landau.


Be the first to know what's on in London, and the latest news published on ianVisits.

You can unsubscribe at any time from my weekly emails.


This website has been running now for over a decade, and while advertising revenue contributes to funding the website, it doesn't cover the costs. That is why I have set up a facility with DonorBox where you can contribute to the costs of the website and time invested in writing and research for the news articles.

It's very similar to the way The Guardian and many smaller websites are now seeking to generate an income in the face of rising costs and declining advertising.

Whether it's a one-off donation or a regular giver, every additional support goes a long way to covering the running costs of this website, and keeping you regularly topped up doses of Londony news and facts.

If you like what you read on here, then please support the website here.

Thank you

Home >> News >> Churn