Old Westminster Walking Tour

 
 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Coronavirus: Events may be cancelled and venues closed at short notice, you are advised to check on their websites before making a trip.

1,000 Years of History… Old Westminster is London at its grandest: the place where kings and queens are crowned, where they lived, and often were buried.

It’s the forge of the national destiny, the place where the heart of the Empire beat, the Mecca of politicians throughout the ages. The past here is cast in stone and we take it all in: ancient Westminster Hall, the Houses of Parliament, the Jewel Tower, Westminster Abbey, etc. And to see it with a great guide (Karen, winner of the Guide of the Year Award, Travel & Leisure’s “World’s Greatest Guide,” Presenter of Discovery TV’s London Next Stop) is to have that past suddenly rise to the surface, like seeing a photographic print come up in a darkroom.

It doesn’t get any better than this. Embarras de richesse, we’ll also explore the private face of Westminster – the London equivalent of Georgetown.

Unlike the tourist hordes who never find them, we get to see the hidden and ever so picturesque Georgian back streets where all the political salons are! We end very near the Cabinet War Rooms, the fortified bunker that housed Winston Churchill’s centre of operations during the war. N.B. So, yes, the walk ends very near Parliament Square, just a stone’s throw from Westminster Tube.

--

Meeting point is exit 4 of the tube station.

Cost: £15


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2021-03-20 10:00 2021-03-20 10:00 Europe/London Old Westminster Walking Tour A guided walk around Westminster and get to see the hidden and ever so picturesque Georgian back streets where all the political salons are https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2021/03/20/old-westminster-walking-tour-239949 Westminster tube station,Bridge Road,London,

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

Westminster tube station,

Bridge Road,
London,
SW1A 2JR

Google Map of Westminster tube station

Nearest tube and train stations to Westminster tube station

This event also takes place on the following dates

Sat 31st Oct 2020
Sat 7th Nov 2020
Sat 14th Nov 2020
Sat 21st Nov 2020
Sat 28th Nov 2020
Sat 5th Dec 2020
Sat 12th Dec 2020
Sat 19th Dec 2020
Sat 26th Dec 2020
Sat 2nd Jan 2021
Sat 9th Jan 2021
Sat 16th Jan 2021
Sat 23rd Jan 2021
Sat 30th Jan 2021
Sat 6th Feb 2021
Sat 13th Feb 2021
Sat 20th Feb 2021
Sat 27th Feb 2021
Sat 6th Mar 2021
Sat 13th Mar 2021
Sat 27th Mar 2021
Sat 3rd Apr 2021
Sat 10th Apr 2021
Sat 17th Apr 2021
Sat 24th Apr 2021
Sat 1st May 2021
Sat 8th May 2021
Sat 15th May 2021
Sat 22nd May 2021

Home > What's on in London > 2021 > March > Saturday, 20th March 2021