Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk

Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk
 
 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Coronavirus: Events may be cancelled and venues closed at short notice, you are advised to check on their websites before making a trip.

Called the Street of Shame, there’s more to this road between the City of London and the City of Westminster than its newspaper heritage. Follow the trail left by monks and monarchs, press barons and literary giants along the highway and down its twisting alleyways.

On this literary walk you'll:

Walk along narrow lanes south of St Paul’s Cathedral, learn about the important Blackfriars’ Monastery and come across a 17th century livery hall

Hear stories about Bridewell Palace and Hospital and the infamous Fleet Prison

See a plaque to the renowned writer Edgar Wallace

Admire the spire of St Bride’s Church, the inspiration for wedding cakes

Learn about the dominance of the newspaper barons and compare the architecture of the impressive Daily Express and Daily Telegraph buildings

Meet Samuel Pepys, whose famous diary has left us with a unique insight into 17th century life, and Samuel Johnson - and his cat Hodge!

Discover another hidden place of worship, the Whitefriars Priory

Find out all about the infamous Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Cost: £13.52


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2021-01-21 11:00 2021-01-21 11:00 Europe/London Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk Follow the trail left by monks and monarchs, press barons and literary giants along the highway and down its twisting alleyways. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2021/01/21/stories-of-fleet-street-guided-walk-243304 City Information Centre,St. Paul's Churchyard (south side),London,

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

City Information Centre,

St. Paul's Churchyard (south side),
London,
EC4M 8BX

Google Map of City Information Centre

Nearest tube and train stations to City Information Centre

This event also takes place on the following dates

Thu 3rd Dec 2020
Thu 10th Dec 2020
Thu 17th Dec 2020
Thu 24th Dec 2020
Thu 31st Dec 2020
Thu 7th Jan 2021
Thu 14th Jan 2021
Thu 28th Jan 2021
Thu 4th Feb 2021
Thu 11th Feb 2021
Thu 18th Feb 2021
Thu 25th Feb 2021
Thu 4th Mar 2021
Thu 11th Mar 2021
Thu 18th Mar 2021
Thu 25th Mar 2021
Thu 1st Apr 2021
Thu 8th Apr 2021
Thu 15th Apr 2021
Thu 22nd Apr 2021
Thu 29th Apr 2021
Thu 6th May 2021
Thu 13th May 2021
Thu 20th May 2021
Thu 27th May 2021
Thu 3rd Jun 2021
Thu 10th Jun 2021
Thu 17th Jun 2021
Thu 24th Jun 2021

Home > What's on in London > 2021 > January > Thursday, 21st January 2021