Islander:
A New Musical

 
 Starts at 8:00 pm

Eilidh stares out to sea and dreams of a new life beyond her lonely island. Myth and reality collide when the tide washes a mysterious stranger onto her beach, changing her life forever. Epic storytelling, intimately staged with a contemporary Scottish folk-inspired score.

The two-hander cast of Kirsty Findlay (Olivier Award Nominated, Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour) and Bethany Tennick perform a whole host of characters, while weaving, building and layering their voices using looping technology to create an expansive, ethereal soundscape for the ears and imagination.

Winner of Musical Theatre Review’s Best Musical Award – Edinburgh Fringe 2019, Islander is conceived and directed by Amy Draper with a book by Stewart Melton and music and lyrics by Finn Anderson.

#IslanderMusical

Part of Made in Scotland Showcase 2019 and originally developed in association with Comar.

The press on Islander at this year’s Edinburgh Festival:

★★★★ ‘It’s a gorgeous production, rich in wit, musicality and transformation’ The Guardian
★★★★ ‘A delicate call for empathy in divided times’ Fest Magazine
★★★★ ‘Although a new piece of work, it feels timeless, like an archetype or folk tale.’ The Stage
★★★★★ ‘Utterly heartwarming, and executes all of its ideas with magnificent aplomb’ Broadway Baby
★★★★★ ‘These eight creatives offer us an outer world of welcome, a theatrical world to open our senses and a mythic majesty for us to wonder about which is often, like our futures, “shrouded in mist and invisible by day’. Musical Theatre Review
★★★★★ ‘A flawless gem lasting only an hour, it is a modern folk tale that is hard not to fall in love with‘ BritishTheatre
★★★★ ‘It’s a beautiful, carefully crafted folk fairytale with harmonies that transport you to the sea and back‘ WhatsOnStage
★★★★ ‘Islander is an immersive, elemental and beautiful musical reflection of life in Scotland’s island communities‘ The Skinny
★★★★ ‘It doubtlessly has potential (and one suspects the ambition) for a life beyond its current shores…‘ Exeunt

Cost: £22


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2019-10-05 20:00 2019-10-05 20:00 Europe/London Islander:
A New Musical
p Eilidh stares out to sea and dreams of a new life beyond her lonely island https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2019/10/05/islander-bra-new-musical-214142 Southwark Playhouse,77-85 Newington Causeway,,London

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Oct


Location

Southwark Playhouse,

77-85 Newington Causeway,
London,
SE1 6BD

Google Map of Southwark Playhouse

Nearest tube and train stations to Southwark Playhouse

Northern
Bakerloo
Thameslink
Northern
Jubilee

This event also takes place on the following dates

Wed 2nd Oct 2019
Thu 3rd Oct 2019
Fri 4th Oct 2019
Mon 7th Oct 2019
Tue 8th Oct 2019
Wed 9th Oct 2019
Thu 10th Oct 2019
Fri 11th Oct 2019
Sat 12th Oct 2019
Mon 14th Oct 2019
Tue 15th Oct 2019
Wed 16th Oct 2019
Thu 17th Oct 2019
Fri 18th Oct 2019
Sat 19th Oct 2019
Mon 21st Oct 2019
Tue 22nd Oct 2019
Wed 23rd Oct 2019
Thu 24th Oct 2019
Fri 25th Oct 2019
Sat 26th Oct 2019

Home > What's on in London > 2019 > October > Saturday, 5th October 2019 > This event