Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift

This event has finished Took place on: Monday, 19th Feb 2018

Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing, hand-picked and hosted by by Gower Street's Glyn Morgan.

Join us for readings, conversation, and wine followed by a book signing.

In February Sci Fi Sessions takes us on journeys through space and through time. Join us as Gareth Powell unveils his latest thrilling novel, Embers of War, a space opera in which the main character is the sentient warship Trouble Dog who is sent on a rescue mission that goes horribly wrong; perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Ann Leckie.

Closer to home, but no less weird or exciting, E. J. Swift's new novel, Paris Adrift, centres on Hallie as she discovers the mysteries of the Chronometrist and the time portal in her pub's keg room, she journeys backwards and forwards through time to save her future, but each trip loses a little bit of herself and puts the future a bit more out of reach; think The Time Machine meets Midnight in Paris.

Both wonderful writers, Gareth won the British Science Fiction Association award for Best Novel in 2013 for his novel Ack-Ack Macaque (the first in a brilliant trilogy about a foul-mouthed, spitfire-flying monkey), whilst E. J. Swift's Osiris Project trilogy was bleak but beautiful in its depiction of a world radically altered by climate change.

All tickets include a glass of wine and a 15% discount on any event titles purchased.

Cost: £6


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2018-02-19 2018-02-19 Europe/London Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2018/02/19/sci-fi-sessionsgareth-powell-and-ej-swift-164801 Waterstones,82 Gower Street,London,London

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Feb


Location

Waterstones,

82 Gower Street,
London,
London,
WC1E 6EQ

Google Map of Waterstones

Nearest tube and train stations to Waterstones

Metropolitan
Hammersmith & City
Circle
Northern
Victoria

More local events coming soon

£15  
This talk examines objects from the Museum’s collection in order to chart a range of striking connections between Stonehenge, other regions of the British Isles, and continental Europe.
12:00 AM
£5  
A screening of the film Steamboy directed by Japanese manga artist, screenwriter and director, Katsuhiro Ôtomo.
12:00 AM
£5  
Broadcaster and Art Historian Janina Ramirez joins Ian Hislop, Editor of Private Eye and co-curator of the Citi exhibition I object: Ian Hislop's search for dissent.
12:00 AM
£3  
Exit Through the Gift Shop is the groundbreaking film from Banksy, the world's most famous graffiti artist – a global phenomenon with a fiercely guarded anonymity.
12:00 AM
£15  
Gardener. Curator Gareth Brereton introduces the BP exhibition I am Ashurbanipal: king of the world, king of Assyria.
12:00 AM
£5  
Writer, broadcaster and editor, Ian Hislop, joins celebrated comedy writer and producer, Armando Iannucci, to discuss the changing role of satire and subversion in a post-truth world.
12:00 AM
£5  
Joined by writer and classicist, David Stuttard, and Professor of Classics at King’s College London, Edith Hall, this panel discussion investigates this theme with reference to a variety of objects and sources.
12:00 AM
£3  
This documentary introduces the street art pioneers Futura, Rammellzee and Blek le Rat.
12:00 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
Free  
See a live display of Bespoke Shirt making and Hand Embroidery
10:00 AM
Free  
https://www.ucl.ac.uk/campaign/festival/its-all-academic-festival-15-september-2018
10:00 AM
Free  
Come and discover the National Theatre’s archive: a treasure trove of theatre materials from the 1960s to present day.
10:00 AM
£23  
The Economist’s Open Future Festival to tackle the most urgent issues of our time
10:00 AM
Free  
We offer tutorials to help you effectively use the internet and the genealogy websites.
10:30 AM
Free  
We offer tutorials to help you effectively use the internet and the genealogy websites.
10:30 AM
Free  
We offer tutorials to help you effectively use the internet and the genealogy websites.
10:30 AM
£5  
The London Gaming Market is a place to buy retro video-games, board games and merchandise all in one place.
11:00 AM
Free  
If you're interested in your family history, come and see all the records we hold.
11:00 AM
Free  
If you're interested in your family history, come and see all the records we hold.
11:00 AM
Free  
If you're interested in your family history, come and see all the records we hold.
11:00 AM
Free  
Sign and lettering expo featuring an exhibition, live demonstrations, screenings and tours.
11:00 AM
Free  
Walking tour of the City, taking in stories of forgotten women workers, medieval business owners, famous queens, and 20th-century heroines.
11:00 AM
Free  
Walking tour of the City, taking in stories of forgotten women workers, medieval business owners, famous queens, and 20th-century heroines.
11:00 AM
Free  
Walking tour of the City, taking in stories of forgotten women workers, medieval business owners, famous queens, and 20th-century heroines.
11:00 AM
Free  
Walking tour of the City, taking in stories of forgotten women workers, medieval business owners, famous queens, and 20th-century heroines.
11:00 AM
Free  
Walking tour of the City, taking in stories of forgotten women workers, medieval business owners, famous queens, and 20th-century heroines.
11:00 AM
Free  
Walking tour of the City, taking in stories of forgotten women workers, medieval business owners, famous queens, and 20th-century heroines.
11:00 AM
£5  
This session, as part of the Open City Documentary Festival, will explore the relationship between film and architecture with a panel of artists and filmmakers.
12:00 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.
12:15 PM