Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift

This event has finished Took place on: Monday, 19th Feb 2018

Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing, hand-picked and hosted by by Gower Street's Glyn Morgan.

Join us for readings, conversation, and wine followed by a book signing.

In February Sci Fi Sessions takes us on journeys through space and through time. Join us as Gareth Powell unveils his latest thrilling novel, Embers of War, a space opera in which the main character is the sentient warship Trouble Dog who is sent on a rescue mission that goes horribly wrong; perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Ann Leckie.

Closer to home, but no less weird or exciting, E. J. Swift's new novel, Paris Adrift, centres on Hallie as she discovers the mysteries of the Chronometrist and the time portal in her pub's keg room, she journeys backwards and forwards through time to save her future, but each trip loses a little bit of herself and puts the future a bit more out of reach; think The Time Machine meets Midnight in Paris.

Both wonderful writers, Gareth won the British Science Fiction Association award for Best Novel in 2013 for his novel Ack-Ack Macaque (the first in a brilliant trilogy about a foul-mouthed, spitfire-flying monkey), whilst E. J. Swift's Osiris Project trilogy was bleak but beautiful in its depiction of a world radically altered by climate change.

All tickets include a glass of wine and a 15% discount on any event titles purchased.

Cost: £6


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

Europe/London Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2018/02/19/sci-fi-sessionsgareth-powell-and-ej-swift-164801 Waterstones,82 Gower Street,London,London

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Feb


Location

Waterstones,

82 Gower Street, London, London, WC1E 6EQ

Google Map of Waterstones

Nearest tube and train stations to Waterstones

Metropolitan
Hammersmith & City
Circle
Northern
Victoria

More local events coming soon

Free  
Free illustrated talk on James Parkinson, London apothecary and freemason, 1755 - 1824.
£15  
Curator Julia Farley explores what life was like for the farmers and warriors who lived in these islands over 2,000 years ago.
12:00 AM
£5  
Sam Moorhead, British Museum, will outline Constantine’s rise to power and his adoption of the Christian faith, culminating in the Battle of the Milvian Bridge in AD 312.
12:00 AM
£5  
This panel discussion will look at the current state of the debate around the proposed Stonehenge tunnel
12:00 AM
£15  
Curator Ian Jenkins will talk on the forthcoming exhibition Rodin and the art of ancient Greece.
12:00 AM
£19  
Take an irreverent and amusing look at the not-so-famous people who have been unfairly consigned to the dustbin of history.
12:00 AM
Free  
The Wiener Library, the worlds oldest archive of material on the Holocaust and the Nazi era, invites you to this half-day workshop to learn more about the historical sources, evidence and methods used in tracing the paths of persecution of those impacted by the Holocaust and World War II.
10:00 AM
£10  
Appreciate its history and development close up and see first hand the forgotten 'Arsenal', neglected Thameside and faded shopping centre.
10:30 AM
£32  
A new walk for 2017, join NLA as we explore one of London’s most exciting and densely populated residential, retail and office neighbourhoods, anchored around one of London’s most visited sites, C
10:30 AM
Free  
The London Metropolitan Archives team will introduce you to some of the wonderful collections which tell the amazing stories of women and power in the capital
10:30 AM
£20  
Designed for those who want to find out more about the medieval history of the site and recent Crossrail excavations.
10:30 AM
£20  
Designed for those who want to find out more about the medieval history of the site and recent Crossrail excavations.
10:30 AM
Free  
Drop in to view a charming slice of design and social history.
11:00 AM
£10  
A walk exploring criminal activities in the City’s northern fringes through the sites of 17th century courthouses, 18th century prisons, and 19th century solutions to the punishment of crime.
11:00 AM
Free  
Dr Peter Ford MBE asks: Is there any other form of intelligent life out there?
11:00 AM
£10  
Brush up your photography with a Covent Garden photography walk.
11:00 AM
£12  
Explore the streets of Holborn with Jo who grew up here
11:00 AM
Free  
Join us for a free tour of our Library and Archives, especially if you're researching your family history.
11:00 AM
Free  
Join us for a free tour of our Library and Archives, especially if you're researching your family history.
11:00 AM
Free  
Join us for a free tour of our Library and Archives, especially if you're researching your family history.
11:00 AM
Free  
Join us for a free tour of our Library and Archives, especially if you're researching your family history.
11:00 AM
Free  
'Paul Talling is a connoisseur of these lost waterways' - BBC The One Show A detailed 3 1/2 hour guided walking tour of the lower part of the River Fleet's course, London's most well known lost riv
11:45 AM
Free  
Join us at tea market to celebrate all things tea, from tea pots and tea leaves, to books and decorative items, so join us and find your favourite cuppa.
12:00 PM
Free  
Join us at tea market to celebrate all things tea, from tea pots and tea leaves, to books and decorative items, so join us and find your favourite cuppa.
12:00 PM
Free  
Join us at tea market to celebrate all things tea, from tea pots and tea leaves, to books and decorative items, so join us and find your favourite cuppa.
12:00 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM