Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift

This event has finished Took place on: Monday, 19th Feb 2018

Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing, hand-picked and hosted by by Gower Street's Glyn Morgan.

Join us for readings, conversation, and wine followed by a book signing.

In February Sci Fi Sessions takes us on journeys through space and through time. Join us as Gareth Powell unveils his latest thrilling novel, Embers of War, a space opera in which the main character is the sentient warship Trouble Dog who is sent on a rescue mission that goes horribly wrong; perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Ann Leckie.

Closer to home, but no less weird or exciting, E. J. Swift's new novel, Paris Adrift, centres on Hallie as she discovers the mysteries of the Chronometrist and the time portal in her pub's keg room, she journeys backwards and forwards through time to save her future, but each trip loses a little bit of herself and puts the future a bit more out of reach; think The Time Machine meets Midnight in Paris.

Both wonderful writers, Gareth won the British Science Fiction Association award for Best Novel in 2013 for his novel Ack-Ack Macaque (the first in a brilliant trilogy about a foul-mouthed, spitfire-flying monkey), whilst E. J. Swift's Osiris Project trilogy was bleak but beautiful in its depiction of a world radically altered by climate change.

All tickets include a glass of wine and a 15% discount on any event titles purchased.

Cost: £6


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2018-02-19 2018-02-19 Europe/London Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2018/02/19/sci-fi-sessionsgareth-powell-and-ej-swift-164801 Waterstones,82 Gower Street,London,London

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Feb


Location

Waterstones,

82 Gower Street,
London,
London,
WC1E 6EQ

Google Map of Waterstones

Nearest tube and train stations to Waterstones

Metropolitan
Hammersmith & City
Circle
Northern
Victoria