Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift

This event has finished Took place on: Monday, 19th Feb 2018

Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing, hand-picked and hosted by by Gower Street's Glyn Morgan.

Join us for readings, conversation, and wine followed by a book signing.

In February Sci Fi Sessions takes us on journeys through space and through time. Join us as Gareth Powell unveils his latest thrilling novel, Embers of War, a space opera in which the main character is the sentient warship Trouble Dog who is sent on a rescue mission that goes horribly wrong; perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Ann Leckie.

Closer to home, but no less weird or exciting, E. J. Swift's new novel, Paris Adrift, centres on Hallie as she discovers the mysteries of the Chronometrist and the time portal in her pub's keg room, she journeys backwards and forwards through time to save her future, but each trip loses a little bit of herself and puts the future a bit more out of reach; think The Time Machine meets Midnight in Paris.

Both wonderful writers, Gareth won the British Science Fiction Association award for Best Novel in 2013 for his novel Ack-Ack Macaque (the first in a brilliant trilogy about a foul-mouthed, spitfire-flying monkey), whilst E. J. Swift's Osiris Project trilogy was bleak but beautiful in its depiction of a world radically altered by climate change.

All tickets include a glass of wine and a 15% discount on any event titles purchased.

Cost: £6


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

Europe/London Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2018/02/19/sci-fi-sessionsgareth-powell-and-ej-swift-164801 Waterstones,82 Gower Street,London,London

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Feb


Location

Waterstones,

82 Gower Street,
London,
London,
WC1E 6EQ

Google Map of Waterstones

Nearest tube and train stations to Waterstones

Metropolitan
Hammersmith & City
Circle
Northern
Victoria

More local events coming soon

Free  
The Chairman and Trustees march around the Piazza, accompanied by the Town Crier, to pay the “peppercorn rents” of five red apples and five posies of flowers for the buildings
12:00 AM
£5  
A panel of experts will explore the cultural backgrounds behind some of our ‘pleasant vices’ – alcohol, sugar, chocolate, caffeine and aphrodisiacs – in relation to the British Museum’s collection and beyond.
12:00 AM
£19  
Take an irreverent and amusing look at the not-so-famous people who have been unfairly consigned to the dustbin of history.
12:00 AM
Free  
As part of the RAF's 100th anniversary events, there will be a display of military aircraft on Horseguards Parade.
9:00 AM
Free  
As part of the RAF's 100th anniversary events, there will be a display of military aircraft on Horseguards Parade.
9:00 AM
Free  
As part of the RAF's 100th anniversary events, there will be a display of military aircraft on Horseguards Parade.
9:00 AM
Free  
As part of the RAF's 100th anniversary events, there will be a display of military aircraft on Horseguards Parade.
9:00 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
Free  
London's lost buildings – from coaching inns and horse markets to riverside mansions and gin palaces – are the focus of a this exhibition.
9:30 AM
£22  
Join the London Fortean Society in London’s dark heart for a day of modern monsters and urban myth including Spring-heeled Jack, Cthulhu, Slender Man, subterranean London folklore, the Crying Boy and more.
10:00 AM
Free  
The London Metropolitan Archives team will introduce you to some of the wonderful collections which tell the amazing stories of women and power in the capital
10:30 AM
Free  
A drop-in workshop with culinary, medicinal and wild herbs. Make your own blends to taste during the session.
11:00 AM
£12  
Explore the colourful history of the Italian community in Clerkenwell and the area around Hatton Garden on this 90 minute guided walk with official local guides, Karen and Jo
11:00 AM
£5  
The London Gaming Market is a place to buy retro video-games, board games and merchandise all in one place.
11:00 AM
£5  
The London Gaming Market is a place to buy retro video-games, board games and merchandise all in one place.
11:00 AM
£12  
Architectural walk around Mayfair.
11:00 AM
£16.52  
Survey London’s shifting landscape of power and witness a court of law in action on this engaging and provocative take on English constitutional, political and legal history.  ()
11:00 AM
Free  
With an experienced tour guide, our Tours are for people interested in social history or family history, wanting to find out what's in our Library and Archives.
11:00 AM
Free  
Philip looks at some of the most fantastical and futurist buildings of their time and considers the reasons they were not built.
12:00 PM
Free  
Local community fete in the heart of London.
12:00 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM
Free  
A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt.  ()
12:15 PM