The London of Oscar Wilde Tour

 
 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Coronavirus: Events may be cancelled and venues closed at short notice, you are advised to check on their websites before making a trip.

1890s London. Gaslit streets. The rattle of hansom cabs. The silvery laughter of stage-door Johnnies and chorus girls. The London of Whistler, Beardsley, Shaw, Lillie Langtry, and Gilbert & Sullivan.

Above all, though, the London* of Oscar Wilde. Oscar – of all writers, the best company. Oscar – at the height of his fame as dramatist and wit, amusing and outraging Victorian society by turns. Oscar – refulgent, majestic, ready to fall. We follow in his footsteps. See his London through his eyes. Listen. Transfixed. Savouring every last syllable.

*Including the very room where Wilde and his high-society friends used to gather in the evenings, to discuss the burning issues of the day or share their thoughts on more aesthetic subjects over champagne, wine and a smoke. Don’t miss the shelves dedicated to the playwright with a picture of him wearing his favourite coat (made of sealskin) purchased in Canada, a bottle of his favourite wine and some of his other possessions.

Cost: £15


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2021-01-23 11:00 2021-01-23 11:00 Europe/London The London of Oscar Wilde Tour The London of a life steeped in equal measures of pleasure, controversy and disdain... https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2021/01/23/the-london-of-oscar-wilde-tour-240429 Green Park tube station (north exit),Stratton Street,London,

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

Green Park tube station (north exit),

Stratton Street,
London,
W1J 8LN

Google Map of Green Park tube station (north exit)

Nearest tube and train stations to Green Park tube station (north exit)

This event also takes place on the following dates

Sat 31st Oct 2020
Sat 7th Nov 2020
Sat 14th Nov 2020
Sat 21st Nov 2020
Sat 28th Nov 2020
Sat 5th Dec 2020
Sat 12th Dec 2020
Sat 19th Dec 2020
Sat 26th Dec 2020
Sat 2nd Jan 2021
Sat 9th Jan 2021
Sat 16th Jan 2021
Sat 30th Jan 2021
Sat 6th Feb 2021
Sat 13th Feb 2021
Sat 20th Feb 2021
Sat 27th Feb 2021
Sat 6th Mar 2021
Sat 13th Mar 2021
Sat 20th Mar 2021
Sat 27th Mar 2021
Sat 3rd Apr 2021
Sat 10th Apr 2021
Sat 17th Apr 2021
Sat 24th Apr 2021
Sat 1st May 2021
Sat 8th May 2021
Sat 15th May 2021
Sat 22nd May 2021

Home > What's on in London > 2021 > January > Saturday, 23rd January 2021