City in Spires - A Tour of Wren Churches

City in Spires - A Tour of Wren Churches
 
 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Coronavirus: Events may be cancelled and venues closed at short notice, you are advised to check on their websites before making a trip.

After the Great Fire of London, Sir Christopher Wren (1632-1723) rebuilt 51 churches. On this guided tour, led by an expert City of London of Guide, you’ll see several of his finest places of worship. Judge for yourself which is the finest!

Among the Wren churches you’ll see on this walk are:

His masterpiece: St Paul’s Cathedral (note: we won’t be going in but why not visit it before or after the walk?)

St Nicholas Cole Abbey, with its distinctive galleon weathervane and excellent cafe

The spires of St Vedast Foster Lane and Christ Church Newgate Street

St Mary-le-Bow, where you’ll learn about the origins of a London cockney and a strong connection to the United States

St Mary Aldermary, an unusual gothic-style church with a stunning plasterwork ceiling

St James Garlickhythe, known as ‘Wren’s Lantern’

St Michael Paternoster Royal, associated with Dick Whittington

St Stephen Walbook, with its impressive dome and stunning Henry Moore font

The walk ends near Bank Station and lasts a little under 2 hours. Please note: children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Cost: £13.52


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2021-01-05 11:00 2021-01-05 11:00 Europe/London City in Spires - A Tour of Wren Churches On this guided tour, led by an expert City of London of Guide, you’ll see several of his finest places of worship. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2021/01/05/city-in-spires-a-tour-of-wren-churches-243422 City Information Centre,St. Paul's Churchyard (south side),London,

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

City Information Centre,

St. Paul's Churchyard (south side),
London,
EC4M 8BX

Google Map of City Information Centre

Nearest tube and train stations to City Information Centre

This event also takes place on the following dates

Tue 8th Dec 2020
Tue 15th Dec 2020
Tue 22nd Dec 2020
Tue 29th Dec 2020
Tue 12th Jan 2021
Tue 19th Jan 2021
Tue 26th Jan 2021
Tue 2nd Feb 2021
Tue 9th Feb 2021
Tue 16th Feb 2021
Tue 23rd Feb 2021
Tue 2nd Mar 2021
Tue 9th Mar 2021
Tue 16th Mar 2021
Tue 23rd Mar 2021
Tue 30th Mar 2021
Tue 6th Apr 2021
Tue 13th Apr 2021
Tue 20th Apr 2021
Tue 27th Apr 2021
Tue 4th May 2021
Tue 11th May 2021
Tue 18th May 2021
Tue 25th May 2021
Tue 1st Jun 2021
Tue 8th Jun 2021
Tue 15th Jun 2021
Tue 22nd Jun 2021
Tue 29th Jun 2021

Home > What's on in London > 2021 > January > Tuesday, 5th January 2021