A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Gra

A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Gra
 
  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Coronavirus: Events may be cancelled and venues closed at short notice, you are advised to check on their websites before making a trip.

For readers of The Salt Path, Mudlarking, Ghostland, Kathleen Jamie and Robert Macfarlane.

Join us at Southwark Cathedral for this talk by award-winning journalist and author Peter Ross on his latest publication A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Graveyards.

Enter a grave new world of fascination and delight as award-winning writer Peter Ross uncovers the stories and glories of graveyards. Who are London’s outcast dead and why is David Bowie their guardian angel? What is the remarkable truth about Phoebe Hessel, who disguised herself as a man to fight alongside her sweetheart, and went on to live in the reigns of five monarchs? Why is a Bristol cemetery the perfect wedding venue for goths?

All of these sorrowful mysteries – and many more – are answered in A Tomb With A View, a book for anyone who has ever wandered through a field of crooked headstones and wondered about the lives and deaths of those who lie beneath.

So push open the rusting gate, push back the ivy, and take a look inside…

Peter Ross is an award-winning journalist. A nine-times winner at the Scottish Press Awards and shortlisted for the Orwell journalism prize, he is a regular contributor to the Guardian and The Times. He is the author of the non-fiction collections Daunderlust and The Passion Of Harry Bingo, the latter shortlisted as non-fiction book of the year at the Saltire Society literary awards. He lives in Glasgow with a view of the tombs.

How are we keeping you safe?

We are committed to the continued well being of all those who visit, work and worship at Southwark Cathedral.

In our on-going efforts to assist our community in preventing the spread of COVID-19, we have implemented the following enhanced protocols and procedures you will notice during your time with us.

Numbers are strictly limited to ensure ensure we adhere by social-distancing.

A designated entrance, at the Churchyard gates on Bedale Street and designated exit through the Millennium Courtyard on Montague Close.

A one way route through the Cathedral that reinforces physical distancing guidelines.

The provision of hand sanitizer stations throughout the site.

Freely available toilet facilities to promote frequent handwashing.

Card and contactless only payment facilities.

Frequent cleaning and disinfecting of touchpoints including handles, rails, seating and toilet facilities.

Face coverings are mandatory inside the Cathedral unless exempted.

Seating will adhere to strict social distancing of at least 1m+ from each other.

Copies of pre-signed books will be available to purchase in advance or on the evening. There will be no book-signing.

What can I do to help?

Please visit us at another time if you or a member of your household or group are feeling unwell.

Wash your hands often using soap or water for 20 seconds or use hand sanitiser.

Wear a face covering.

Stay at least 1m+ away from others and follow the one way route around the Cathedral.

If you need to cough or sneeze, please do so into your elbow, not in your hand or the air.

Please note should this event need to be cancelled full refunds will be issued within 3-5 days of the event date.

Cost: £18


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

Reserve tickets at this website

2020-10-29 19:00 2020-10-29 19:00 Europe/London A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Gra Join us at Southwark Cathedral for this talk by award-winning journalist and author Peter Ross on his latest publication A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Graveyards. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2020/10/29/a-tomb-with-a-view-the-stories-and-glories-of-gra-243595 Southwark Cathedral,London Bridge,,London

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

Southwark Cathedral,

London Bridge,
London,
SE1 9DA

Google Map of Southwark Cathedral

Nearest tube and train stations to Southwark Cathedral

Home > What's on in London > 2020 > October > Thursday, 29th October 2020