Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/calendar/event.php on line 1114

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/calendar/event.php:1114) in /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/_templatefiles/header.php on line 2

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/calendar/event.php:1114) in /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/_templatefiles/header.php on line 4

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/calendar/event.php:1114) in /var/sites/i/ianvisits.co.uk/public_html/_templatefiles/header.php on line 5
Historical Highlights of Somerset House at Somerset House (8th Aug 2020)

Historical Highlights of Somerset House

 
 Starts at 12:15 pm

Coronavirus: Events may be cancelled and venues closed at short notice, you are advised to check on their websites before making a trip.

In approximately one hour, you'll discover evidence of Tudor intrigue and Georgian Enlightenment, scientific curiosity and naval power, extravagant entertainments and 'the King's Shilling', as we lead you from the airy lightwells of graceful staircases to the atmospheric Deadhouse.

A new highlight of the tour is The Miles Stair, located in the West Wing and designed by the internationally renowned architect Eva Jiricna, the stair represents her most ambitious stair structure yet. The treads and landings are made from a material called ductal, this product is a thousand times stronger than concrete.

Collect your free tickets from the Information Desk in the Seamen's Hall, South Building. Tickets available from 10.30.

Be sure to come early to avoid disappointment as the tours are extremely popular. Our tours are designed for individuals and small groups and tickets will be limited to a maximum of six per person. Larger groups should enquire about private guided tours.

Cost: Free of Charge


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

No need to book tickets - just turn up on the day.

2020-08-08 12:15 2020-08-08 12:15 Europe/London Historical Highlights of Somerset House A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2020/08/08/historical-highlights-of-somerset-house-104609 Somerset House,Strand, London,,London

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

Somerset House,

Strand, London,
London,
WC2R 1LA

Google Map of Somerset House

Nearest tube and train stations to Somerset House

This event also takes place on the following dates

Sat 25th Apr 2020
Sat 2nd May 2020
Sat 9th May 2020
Sat 16th May 2020
Sat 23rd May 2020
Sat 30th May 2020
Sat 6th Jun 2020
Sat 13th Jun 2020
Sat 20th Jun 2020
Sat 27th Jun 2020
Sat 4th Jul 2020
Sat 11th Jul 2020
Sat 18th Jul 2020
Sat 25th Jul 2020
Sat 1st Aug 2020
Sat 15th Aug 2020
Sat 22nd Aug 2020
Sat 29th Aug 2020
Sat 5th Sep 2020
Sat 12th Sep 2020
Sat 19th Sep 2020
Sat 26th Sep 2020
Sat 3rd Oct 2020
Sat 10th Oct 2020
Sat 17th Oct 2020
Sat 24th Oct 2020
Sat 31st Oct 2020
Sat 7th Nov 2020
Sat 14th Nov 2020

Home > What's on in London > 2020 > August > Saturday, 8th August 2020