Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk

Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk
 
 11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Printing, pubs and Pepys

Called the Street of Shame, there’s more to this road between the City of London and the City of Westminster than its newspaper heritage. Follow the trail left by monks and monarchs, press barons and literary giants along the highway and down its twisting alleyways.

On this literary walk you'll:

Walk along narrow lanes south of St Paul’s Cathedral, learn about the important Blackfriars’ Monastery and come across a 17th century livery hall
Hear stories about Bridewell Palace and Hospital and the infamous Fleet Prison
See a plaque to the renowned writer Edgar Wallace
Admire the spire of St Bride’s Church, the inspiration for wedding cakes
Learn about the dominance of the newspaper barons and compare the architecture of the impressive Daily Express and Daily Telegraph buildings
Meet Samuel Pepys, whose famous diary has left us with a unique insight into 17th century life, and Samuel Johnson - and his cat Hodge!
Discover another hidden place of worship, the Whitefriars Priory
Find out all about the infamous Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Our walk ends in Fleet Street, where your City of London Guide can direct you to the nearest Tube station - or a local watering hole. Please note: children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Cost: £10


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

No need to book tickets - just turn up on the day.

2020-06-16 11:00 2020-06-16 11:00 Europe/London Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk Called the Street of Shame, there’s more to this road between the City of London and the City of Westminster than its newspaper heritage. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2020/06/16/stories-of-fleet-street-guided-walk-206164 City Information Centre,St Paul's Churchyard,London,

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

City Information Centre,

St Paul's Churchyard,
London,
EC4M 8BX

Google Map of City Information Centre

Nearest tube and train stations to City Information Centre

Central
Thameslink
District
Circle

This event also takes place on the following dates

Tue 10th Dec 2019
Tue 17th Dec 2019
Tue 24th Dec 2019
Tue 31st Dec 2019
Tue 7th Jan 2020
Tue 14th Jan 2020
Tue 21st Jan 2020
Tue 28th Jan 2020
Tue 4th Feb 2020
Tue 11th Feb 2020
Tue 18th Feb 2020
Tue 25th Feb 2020
Tue 3rd Mar 2020
Tue 10th Mar 2020
Tue 17th Mar 2020
Tue 24th Mar 2020
Tue 31st Mar 2020
Tue 7th Apr 2020
Tue 14th Apr 2020
Tue 21st Apr 2020
Tue 28th Apr 2020
Tue 5th May 2020
Tue 12th May 2020
Tue 19th May 2020
Tue 26th May 2020
Tue 2nd Jun 2020
Tue 9th Jun 2020
Tue 23rd Jun 2020
Tue 30th Jun 2020

Home > What's on in London > 2020 > June > Tuesday, 16th June 2020