London's River Walk

London's River Walk
 
 11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Trade, transport and traditions

The River Thames is London. It’s why the Romans chose its gravel north bank to found Londinium; its tidal waters brought trade and wealth to the City - and continues to do so.

Spend a leisurely couple of hours walking along its edge and let your City of London Guide tell you about frost fairs, swan upping, entertainment Southwark-style and Lord Mayors’ Shows.

Discover how the Thames helped - and hindered - the City during the Blitz of 1940 and what role it played during the Great Fire of 1666.

See the first crossing of the River Thames for 100 years and learn the reason why it really did wobble
Get all the facts and figures on the Thames; its tides and its wildlife. Did you know there are over 100 species of fish in the Thames?
Visit an 1100 year-old dock and the site of the first public lavatory (fortunately no longer there!)
Admire modern buildings like the Shard and learn how Shakespeare's Globe Theatre came to be built.
Walk by London Bridge and learn how it looked 700 years ago.
Discover the origins of the nursery rhyme ‘London Bridge is falling down’.
Learn about the Pool of London and why it was once the busiest port in the world

Your walking tour starts from the City Information Centre, south of St Paul’s Cathedral. It lasts between 1.5 and 2 hours and ends near Monument. Your guide will be able to advise you on local pubs, cafes and eating places.

Cost: £10


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

No need to book tickets - just turn up on the day.

2020-03-07 11:00 2020-03-07 11:00 Europe/London London's River Walk The River Thames is London. It’s why the Romans chose its gravel north bank to found Londinium; its tidal waters brought trade and wealth to the City - and continues to do so. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2020/03/07/londons-river-walk-207423 City Information Centre,St Paul's Churchyard,London,

See more events today, tomorrow or rest of this month


Location

City Information Centre,

St Paul's Churchyard,
London,
EC4M 8BX

Google Map of City Information Centre

Nearest tube and train stations to City Information Centre

Central
Thameslink
District
Circle

This event also takes place on the following dates

Sat 26th Oct 2019
Sat 2nd Nov 2019
Sat 9th Nov 2019
Sat 16th Nov 2019
Sat 23rd Nov 2019
Sat 30th Nov 2019
Sat 7th Dec 2019
Sat 14th Dec 2019
Sat 21st Dec 2019
Sat 28th Dec 2019
Sat 4th Jan 2020
Sat 11th Jan 2020
Sat 18th Jan 2020
Sat 25th Jan 2020
Sat 1st Feb 2020
Sat 8th Feb 2020
Sat 15th Feb 2020
Sat 22nd Feb 2020
Sat 29th Feb 2020
Sat 14th Mar 2020
Sat 21st Mar 2020
Sat 28th Mar 2020
Sat 4th Apr 2020
Sat 11th Apr 2020
Sat 18th Apr 2020
Sat 25th Apr 2020
Sat 2nd May 2020
Sat 9th May 2020
Sat 16th May 2020

Home > What's on in London > 2020 > March > Saturday, 7th March 2020