Historical Highlights of Somerset House

 
 Starts at 12:15 pm

In approximately one hour, you'll discover evidence of Tudor intrigue and Georgian Enlightenment, scientific curiosity and naval power, extravagant entertainments and 'the King's Shilling', as we lead you from the airy lightwells of graceful staircases to the atmospheric Deadhouse.

A new highlight of the tour is The Miles Stair, located in the West Wing and designed by the internationally renowned architect Eva Jiricna, the stair represents her most ambitious stair structure yet. The treads and landings are made from a material called ductal, this product is a thousand times stronger than concrete.

Collect your free tickets from the Information Desk in the Seamen's Hall, South Building. Tickets available from 10.30.

Be sure to come early to avoid disappointment as the tours are extremely popular. Our tours are designed for individuals and small groups and tickets will be limited to a maximum of six per person. Larger groups should enquire about private guided tours.

Cost: Free of Charge


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

No need to book tickets - just turn up on the day.

2020-01-04 12:15 2020-01-04 12:15 Europe/London Historical Highlights of Somerset House A guided tour around the historic Somerset House including the vaults under the main forecourt. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2020/01/04/historical-highlights-of-somerset-house-104578 Somerset House,Strand, London,,London

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Jan


Location

Somerset House,

Strand, London,
London,
WC2R 1LA

Google Map of Somerset House

Nearest tube and train stations to Somerset House

District
Circle
Piccadily
District
Northern
Circle
Bakerloo

This event also takes place on the following dates

Sat 24th Aug 2019
Sat 31st Aug 2019
Sat 7th Sep 2019
Sat 14th Sep 2019
Sat 21st Sep 2019
Sat 28th Sep 2019
Sat 5th Oct 2019
Sat 12th Oct 2019
Sat 19th Oct 2019
Sat 26th Oct 2019
Sat 2nd Nov 2019
Sat 9th Nov 2019
Sat 16th Nov 2019
Sat 23rd Nov 2019
Sat 30th Nov 2019
Sat 7th Dec 2019
Sat 14th Dec 2019
Sat 21st Dec 2019
Sat 28th Dec 2019
Sat 11th Jan 2020
Sat 18th Jan 2020
Sat 25th Jan 2020
Sat 1st Feb 2020
Sat 8th Feb 2020
Sat 15th Feb 2020
Sat 22nd Feb 2020
Sat 29th Feb 2020
Sat 7th Mar 2020
Sat 14th Mar 2020

Home > What's on in London > 2020 > January > Saturday, 4th January 2020 > This event