Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk

Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk
 
  2:00 pm - 3:45 pm

Printing, pubs and Pepys

Called the Street of Shame, there’s more to this road between the City of London and the City of Westminster than its newspaper heritage. Follow the trail left by monks and monarchs, press barons and literary giants along the highway and down its twisting alleyways.

On this literary walk you'll:

Walk along narrow lanes south of St Paul’s Cathedral, learn about the important Blackfriars’ Monastery and come across a 17th century livery hall
Hear stories about Bridewell Palace and Hospital and the infamous Fleet Prison
See a plaque to the renowned writer Edgar Wallace
Admire the spire of St Bride’s Church, the inspiration for wedding cakes
Learn about the dominance of the newspaper barons and compare the architecture of the impressive Daily Express and Daily Telegraph buildings
Meet Samuel Pepys, whose famous diary has left us with a unique insight into 17th century life, and Samuel Johnson - and his cat Hodge!
Discover another hidden place of worship, the Whitefriars Priory
Find out all about the infamous Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Our walk ends in Fleet Street, where your City of London Guide can direct you to the nearest Tube station - or a local watering hole. Please note: children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Cost: £10


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

No need to book tickets - just turn up on the day.

2019-10-24 14:00 2019-10-24 14:00 Europe/London Stories of Fleet Street Guided Walk Called the Street of Shame, there’s more to this road between the City of London and the City of Westminster than its newspaper heritage. https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2019/10/24/stories-of-fleet-street-guided-walk-206312 City Information Centre,St Paul's Churchyard,London,

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Oct


Location

City Information Centre,

St Paul's Churchyard,
London,
EC4M 8BX

Google Map of City Information Centre

Nearest tube and train stations to City Information Centre

Central
Thameslink
District
Circle

This event also takes place on the following dates

Thu 26th Sep 2019
Thu 3rd Oct 2019
Thu 10th Oct 2019
Thu 17th Oct 2019
Thu 31st Oct 2019
Thu 7th Nov 2019
Thu 14th Nov 2019
Thu 21st Nov 2019
Thu 28th Nov 2019
Thu 5th Dec 2019
Thu 12th Dec 2019
Thu 19th Dec 2019
Thu 26th Dec 2019
Thu 2nd Jan 2020
Thu 9th Jan 2020
Thu 16th Jan 2020
Thu 23rd Jan 2020
Thu 30th Jan 2020
Thu 6th Feb 2020
Thu 13th Feb 2020
Thu 20th Feb 2020
Thu 27th Feb 2020
Thu 5th Mar 2020
Thu 12th Mar 2020
Thu 19th Mar 2020
Thu 26th Mar 2020
Thu 2nd Apr 2020
Thu 9th Apr 2020
Thu 16th Apr 2020

Home > What's on in London > 2019 > October > Thursday, 24th October 2019