City in Spires - A Tour of Wren Churches

City in Spires - A Tour of Wren Churches

This event has finished Took place on: Thursday, 15th Aug 2019

A tour of Wren's churches

After the Great Fire of London, Sir Christopher Wren (1632-1723) rebuilt 51 churches. On this guided tour, led by an expert City of London of Guide, you’ll see several of his finest places of worship. Judge for yourself which is the finest!

Among the Wren churches you’ll see on this walk are:

His masterpiece: St Paul’s Cathedral (note: we won’t be going in but why not visit it before or after the walk?)
St Nicholas Cole Abbey, with its distinctive galleon weathervane and excellent cafe
The spires of St Vedast Foster Lane and Christ Church Newgate Street
St Mary-le-Bow, where you’ll learn about the origins of a London cockney and a strong connection to the United States
St Mary Aldermary, an unusual gothic-style church with a stunning plasterwork ceiling
St James Garlickhythe, known as ‘Wren’s Lantern’
St Michael Paternoster Royal, associated with Dick Whittington
St Stephen Walbook, with its impressive dome and stunning Henry Moore font

The walk ends near Bank Station and lasts a little under 2 hours.

Cost: £10


Contact and Booking Details

More information at this website.

No need to book tickets - just turn up on the day.

2019-08-15 2019-08-15 Europe/London City in Spires - A Tour of Wren Churches On this guided tour, led by an expert City of London of Guide, you’ll see several of his finest places of worship. Judge for yourself which is the finest! https://www.ianvisits.co.uk/calendar/2019/08/15/city-in-spires-a-tour-of-wren-churches-206666 City Information Centre,St Paul's Churchyard,London,

See more events on the same day or today, tomorrow or rest of Aug


Location

City Information Centre,

St Paul's Churchyard,
London,
EC4M 8BX

Google Map of City Information Centre

Nearest tube and train stations to City Information Centre

Central
Thameslink
District
Circle

This event also takes place on the following dates

Thu 26th Sep 2019
Thu 3rd Oct 2019
Thu 10th Oct 2019
Thu 17th Oct 2019
Thu 24th Oct 2019
Thu 31st Oct 2019
Thu 7th Nov 2019
Thu 14th Nov 2019
Thu 21st Nov 2019
Thu 28th Nov 2019
Thu 5th Dec 2019
Thu 12th Dec 2019
Thu 19th Dec 2019
Thu 26th Dec 2019
Thu 2nd Jan 2020
Thu 9th Jan 2020
Thu 16th Jan 2020
Thu 23rd Jan 2020
Thu 30th Jan 2020
Thu 6th Feb 2020
Thu 13th Feb 2020
Thu 20th Feb 2020
Thu 27th Feb 2020
Thu 5th Mar 2020
Thu 12th Mar 2020
Thu 19th Mar 2020
Thu 26th Mar 2020
Thu 2nd Apr 2020
Thu 9th Apr 2020
Thu 16th Apr 2020

Home > What's on in London > 2019 > August > Thursday, 15th August 2019