The golden age of travel still exists in the UK, with heritage railway tours offering luxurious seating, top food and plenty to drink on a range of tours by steam train. While it’s fun to watch a steam train rushing past, but they can only do so if people are on board, so why not be one of those people in 2022? Be one of the people inside the train waving back as excited bystanders wave at you.

Prices start from £40 for a trip to Windsor, through to slightly eye-watering prices for top of the range fine dining trips.

(c) Railway Touring Company

The tours vary a great deal from a chance to tour around the countryside in standard class heritage trains to a luxury restaurant on wheels. Personally, if you’re going for a special treat, try to go for the meals, as they really evoke the air of the upper-class golden age of travel at the turn of the 19th century.

(c) Belmond

And you don’t need to be a railway enthusiast to travel on heritage trains.

These tours are aimed at people seeking a nice day out, and most people travelling by heritage train are general interest travellers who come with their partners, family and friends.

Most of the day tours include a few hours at a notable town to visit and look around before heading home.

All tours listed below start and return to London.

Note, the tours are expected to be majority steam hauled services, but some dates haven’t confirmed that yet – always check with the tour operator before booking.

March 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Sun 13th Mar Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Thur 17th March London to Kent with Flying Scotsman £119 All day Day trip to Canterbury
Sat 19th March The Cheshireman £115 All day Day trip to Chester
Thur 24th March London to Salisbury with Flying Scotsman £119 All day Day trip to Salisbury
Sat 26th March The Mancunian £115 All day Day trip to Manchester
Sun 27th March Mother’s Day Afternoon Tea £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey

April 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Tues 5th April London to Bath £109 All day Day trip to Bath
Sat 9th April London to Settle & Carlisle Railway £119 All day Day trip to the famous Settle railway bridge
Thur 14th April Historic Bath £470 All day Day trip to Bath
Fri 15th April Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £370 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey

May 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Tues 10th May Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Tues 10th May Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tue 17th May London to Brooklands Museum £75 Morning Return trip to the motoring museum near the M25
Tue 17th May Hampshire Hills Lunchtime Tour £69 All day Loop around Hamshire via Portsmouth 
Tues 17th May Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 24th May Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 24th May Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Fri 27th May Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Tues 31st May Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 31st May Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor

June 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Thur 2nd June The Platinum Jubilee £109 All day Day trip to Ely and Sandringham
Sun 5th June Luminary Jubilee Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 11th June The Golden Age Of Travel by Steam £455 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Fri 17th June Royal Ascot £650 All day Day trip to the races
Sat 18th June The Cotswold Venturer £115 All day Day trip to Worcester
Thur 23rd June London Victoria to Weymouth £109 All day Day trip to Bournmouth
Fri 24th June The Dinner hosted by Ollie Dabbous £505 Evening Evening loop via the North Downs and Guildford
Sun 26th June Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Tues 28th June Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tue 28th June Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor

July 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Sat 2nd July Tribute to the Bournemouth Belle £399 All day Mark the 90th anniversary of the Bournemouth Belle’s very first trip from London
Sat 2nd July The Atlantic Coast Express £130 All day Day trip to Exeter
Tues 5th July Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 5th July Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Fri 8th July The Golden Age Of Travel £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Kent
Sat 9th July The End of Southern Steam £130 All day Day trip to Weymouth to mark the 55th anniversary of the end of Southern steam
Sat 9th July The Yorkshire Pullman £525 All day Day trip to York
Tues 12th July Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 12th July Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Wed 13th July Great British Seaside: Broadstairs £400 All day Day trip to Broadstairs, on the Thanet coast
14th July Victoria to Winchester & Southampton £99 All day Day trip to the south coast
Fri 15th July The Dinner hosted by Simon Rogan £545 Evening Loop around Surrey
Sat 16th July The Cheshireman £115 All day Day trip to Chester
Tues 19th July Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 19th July Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Wed 20th July Historic Bath £470 All day Day trip to Bath
Wed 20th July Longleat £470 All day Day trip to Longleat, home of the Marquesses of Bath
Thur 21st July The Dorset Coast Express £115 All day Day trip to Weymouth
Fri 22nd July The Golden Age Of Travel by Steam £420 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 23rd July The West Somerset Steam Express £115 All day Day trip to the Bristol coast via Taunton
Sun 24th July Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Tues 26th July Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 26th July Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
28th July London to Bath £109 All day Day trip to Bath

August 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Tues 2nd Aug Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Thur 4th Aug The Kentish Belle £115 All day Day trip to Canterbury
Fri 5th Aug The Golden Age Of Travel £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Kent
Tues 9th Aug Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 9th Aug Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Wed 10th Aug Blenheim Palace £435 All day Day trip to Blenheim Palace
Wed 10th Aug Waddesdon Manor £435 All day Day trip to Waddesdon Manor, Bucks
Wed 10th Aug Historic Oxford £435 All day Day trip to Oxford
11th Aug London Victoria to Canterbury £99 All day Day trip to Cambrige
Fri 12th Aug Great British Seaside: Whitstable £400 All day Day trip to Whitstable
Sat 13th Aug Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 13th Aug The West Somerset Steam Express £115 All day Day trip to the Bristol Coast via Taunton
Tues 16th Aug Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 16th Aug Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Wed 17th Aug Historic Bath £435 All day Day trip to Bath
Thur 18th Aug The Dorset Coast Express £115 All day Day trip to Weymouth
Fri 19th Aug The Golden Age Of Travel £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Kent
20th Aug London to Portsmouth & Isle of Wight £99 All day London to Portsmouth, and option to Isle of Wight
Tues 23rd Aug Sunset Steam Express £59 Evening An evening loop through the Surrey Hills
Tues 23rd Aug Royal Windsor Steam Express £39 varies One way trip to or from Windsor
Sat 27th Aug The Cotswold Venturer £130 All day Day trip to Worcester via the Cotswold Hills

September 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Thur 1st Sept The Dorset Coast Express £115 All day Day trip to Weymouth
Sat 3rd Sept Great British Seaside: Hastings £400 All day Day trip to Hastings
Sun 4th Sept Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Wed 7th Sept Chatsworth House £505 All day Day trip to Chatsworth House
Thur 8th Sept The Swanage Belle £115 All day Day trip to Swanage via the Swanage Railway line.
Fri 9th Sept Murder Mystery Lunch £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 10th Sept The Golden Age Of Travel £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Kent
Wed 14th Sept Historic Bath by Steam £560 All day Day trip to Bath
18th Sept London to Chichester & Goodwood Revival £99 All day Day trip to either Goodwood or Arundel Castle
Wed 21st Sept Bombay Sapphire Distillery £630 All day Day trip to Laverstoke and the gin distillery

November 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Sat 5th Nov Luminary Champagne Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Wed 9th Nov Historic Bath £435 All day Day trip to Bath
Fri 11th Nov The Golden Age Of Travel £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Kent
Fri 18th Nov Murder Mystery Lunch £365 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 19th Nov The Golden Age Of Travel by Steam £420 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Wed 23rd Nov Chatsworth House at Christmas £525 All day Day trip to Chatsworth House 
Fri 25th Nov Winchester Christmas Market £455 All day Day trip to Winchester 
Wed 30th Nov Bath at Christmas £455 All day Day trip to Bath

December 2022

Date Tour name Prices from Duration Description
Thur 1st Dec Canterbury Christmas Carols £455 All day Day trip to Canterbury
Fri 2nd Dec Christmas Lunch £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sun 4th Dec Luminary Festive Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Tue 6th Dec Christmas Lunch £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Wed 7th Dec Bath at Christmas £455 All day Day trip to Bath
Thur 8th Dec Christmas Lunch £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Fri 9th Dec Canterbury Christmas Carols £455 All day Day trip to Canterbury
Sat 10th Dec Christmas Lunch by Steam £475 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Tue 13th Dec Christmas Lunch £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Thur 15th Dec Salisbury Carols £455 All day Day trip to Salisbury
Fri 16th Dec Christmas Lunch by Steam £475 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 17th Dec Luminary Festive Afternoon Tea £340 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 17th Dec Christmas
Lunch
£295 Afternoon Afternoon loop
Tue 20th Dec Christmas Lunch £400 Afternoon Afternoon loop around Surrey
Sat 31st Dec New Year’s Eve Dinner £475 Evening Champagne fueled loop around Surrey

List of UK heritage train tour operators

A1 Steam (Tornado)

Belmond British Pullman

Charity Railtours

GBRf Charity Railtours

Hastings Diesels

Intercity

Midland Pullman

Nenta Traintours

Northern Belle

Pathfinder Railtours

Princess Royal Class Locomotive Trust

Rail Charter Services

Railway Touring Company

Retro Railtours

Royal Windsor Steam Express

Saltburn Railtours

Saphos Tours

Scottish Railway Preservation Society

Statesman

Steam Dreams

Sunset Steam Express

UK Railtours

Vintage trains

West Coast Railways

NEWSLETTER

Be the first to know what's on in London, and the latest news published on ianVisits.

You can unsubscribe at any time from my weekly emails.

Tagged with:
SUPPORT THIS WEBSITE

This website has been running now for over a decade, and while advertising revenue contributes to funding the website, it doesn't cover the costs. That is why I have set up a facility with DonorBox where you can contribute to the costs of the website and time invested in writing and research for the news articles.

It's very similar to the way The Guardian and many smaller websites are now seeking to generate an income in the face of rising costs and declining advertising.

Whether it's a one-off donation or a regular giver, every additional support goes a long way to covering the running costs of this website, and keeping you regularly topped up doses of Londony news and facts.

If you like what you read on here, then please support the website here.

Thank you

One comment
  1. anonymous says:

    For anyone thinking of booking any of these, do your own research on the operators first. Some operators are experiencing non-covid related issues and have been for several months.

Leave a Reply to anonymous Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

Home >> News >> Transport News